“This experience will not come again.”

I’ll be the first to admit I easily get caught up in whirlwinds of activity, blown about with excitement (and stress) like a tumbleweed in a windstorm.

Moving into a house is all-consuming, especially as a newbie homeowner. I have flitted from one thing to the next, popping in and out of the paint store, staining countless articles of clothing with paint, pushing to get things done, working as if against a buzzer. I have many moments where I don’t remember where I’ve been in a day, or why I have blue paint on my forearm, or why – as in, what happened last night – I am teaching a yoga class and lifting my foot in the air towards the room only to realize the bottom of it is pitch-black with dirt. (Stephanie and Michelle – thanks for helping me laugh that off!)

Yikes.

In the midst of this, my dear friend Mary Ellen wrote something to me in an email. Its truth reverberated through my chest, bringing tears to my eyes.

Something to think about too, is that this experience (moving into your own home with the man you love) will not come again.  This is the first and only time that this experience will be entirely new.  So, remember to breathe and bask in the moments – the kindness of friends and family who help, the silliness of trying to get a big piece of furniture/appliance through a too small door, the confusion of what is in what box and where the salt/pepper shakers went to – all this will never come again (or at least not in this particular way) – celebrate it, bask in it, laugh at it, be overwhelmed by it – feel it all – and allow it to wash over you like waves in the ocean.

How beautiful. And true. And how blessed I am to have the wisdom and kindness of friends and loved ones to help me ground again, laugh off my dirty feet, stay present, and BREATHE.

