DIY: jewelry organization & wine cork repurposing

I’m one of those people who loves DIY in concept but rarely has the time to clean my own bathroom. So really, stapling things to other things and hot-gluing wine corks together is a luxury in terms of time.

But – along with resolving to be cleaner I decided I wanted to do more DIY projects and re-purpose things for our house (when you buy a house it’s sort of like New Year’s resolution-time all over again!)

These are baby steps into that.

Cost – about $10 for 8 frames of varying sizes.

I started off by dragging Mike to a garage sale up the street. Actually – he’s the one that told me about it. I got several frames for a dollar or two. I had seen the jewelry frame idea on Pinterest and so pulled up the picture on my iPad, then trekked to Lowe’s.

Now – I never in 125 years though I would say I enjoyed a trip to Lowe’s. My dad used to do frequent pit stops there, regardless of whether we kids were along for the ride. I was always sooooooooo bored. It was the equivalent of Mike’s mom taking him to Joanne Fabrics (at least at JF I could find some jewelry or art supplies); Lowe’s is a nightmare to an 11-year-old girl.

As a homeowner, Lowe’s is like your local watering hole. I was a bit obsessed in finding the right screen wire, the right twine, hooks, etc. I also find it amusing to see a man’s reactions to any female perusing the power tool aisle. Of course, I was on my way to the mini hot-glue gun section- so I really reaffirmed a stereotype at the precise moment when I should have pretended my way out of it. Anyway.

The next step was to call Adrianna, who gladly stopped what she was doing and came over to join in the DIY day.

Cost: $5 for frames; $8 for a roll of screen wire; cost of staples and staple gun ($10), a dollar or two for hooks.

Here are the jewelry frames, finished. It really takes about 4.5 minutes, once you cut the screen and staple it to the back. Yayyyyy for craftiness, and getting bits of aluminum screen out of my bum (from sitting on the floor).

Adrianna is a master crafts-woman with corks and suffered a cut and a minor burn in the making of this piece. It’s an old frame, with corks on the bottom (which we had to slice individually – well, she did most of the slicing). What is its purpose, you may ask (as Mike did)? Centerpiece – it can hold hot or cold items without them leaching into my table, and can also serve as a cork board for notes if I get bored of it as a centerpiece. Corks provides so many possibilities. But we ran out of them, had no more wine to drink, had cuts/burns, and aluminum stab wounds, and so resolved to come back to more cork projects at a later date.

Cost: corks=free; glue gun – $5; frame = $1.  3 hours gluing something together – the cost of labor.

